tradition

i have been eating new year’s cookies on new year’s day for as long as i can remember. my grandmother used to make them, now my mom is continuing the tradition. new year’s cookies are like a donut…sort of. they are made from a sweet yeast dough with raisins, deep fried and then rolled in sugar. we serve them with egg casserole, sausage and warm maple syrup. my grandmother used to break out the “snack sets” and tv trays in her living room. she would send leftover home in bread sacks that she had saved.

we skip the snack sets and the bread bags are not ziploc’s but this tradition is deeply rooted in me.

 

 

 

 as if the nostalgia of new year’s cookies was not enough, my mom broke out this game from my grandparent’s house. it is dated 1970. i played many, many games of this with my grandparents over the course of my childhood. i was glad to get to share it with jenna today.

 

Leave a comment