today

today i find myself at home, being a mom to an under-the-weather 11 year old. 

when i went to check on her this morning and realized i would staying home with her today, my first thoughts were “i can spend the day putting away the laundry, loading the diswasher etc. etc.” all the “mom” things that don’t get done during the week.

then i thought to myself, are those really “mom” things? or should the “mom” things for today include..making her mint tea, snuggling on the couch, watching t.v. and napping when she naps. i’ve decided that the latter is what today will look like. the laundry will still be there to put away tomorrow, the dishes in the sink aren’t going anywhere and i will get to scrubbing the bathtub eventually.

on my way home from dropping callan at school the first and last stanzas of this poem came to mind, and my phone was handy to capture the sunrise.

Today

I

Do not

Want to step so quickly

Over a beautiful line on God’s palm

As I move through the earth’s

Marketplace

Today

………………..

As I

Dance with

Precious life

Today.

hafiz

 

Leave a Reply

